Week 4: December 9, 2013; Slow Week

Hello!

I won’t lie, this week has been really hard for me. It doesn’t feel like a lot really got done this week. That’s partly because we had zone conference on Wednesday which pretty much took up the entire day.

One good thing that did happen this week though was on Friday, we went on exchanges with Elder Goulding (one of the assistants who is actually going home at the end of this transfer) and visited the Zimmerman’s to do service for them. And what was that service? Putting up the tree and decorating it with lights and ornaments with Christmas music playing in the background. So that was kind of cool to have still been able to do it. Sister Zimmerman then asked if we could leave with a Christmas message and so each of us pulled out our scriptures and from Elder Goulding, to Elder Parsons, to me, each shared an individual scripture and message to tie into it. Again, I felt super unprepared, so I just turned through the pages of my scriptures until I turned to Luke 2. Kind of a cheat, but I basically just read the first half of that chapter since it is really THE Christmas story and then bore testimony on the Savior. I don’t even really remember what I said, but it seemed to have gone well. I uploaded a picture to my flickr account which has Elder Goulding, Elder Parsons, and I in front of the tree.

Anyway, the work has just been going pretty slow. The problem with here in Gilbert is that since it’s such a small mission, everyone has had missionaries talk to them. So either people love the missionaries but aren’t interested in the message, or people aren’t interested in the message and they hate the missionaries’ guts. So our only hope for having any investigators is through the members doing their own missionary work and us helping them and motivating them to do missionary work. It’s good because people (for the most part) ARE inviting their friends to church events such as the Christmas activities, the Mesa Temple lights, and the Gilbert Temple open-house, but those friends are usually out of our mission or out of our zone. So the only people we have taught have been less-actives. Which isn’t bad, it’s good that we’re doing it. But it doesn’t seem like the wards are even really struggling.

Top that off with me still feeling like a first-week missionary pretty much creates a pretty miserable week. It really sucks because I’m not struggling in the ways that I thought I would. I’m not feeling homesick, I don’t feel the need to be in front of a computer all day, or anything like that. I just feel that I’m not needed here.

Sorry, I don’t mean to be such a downer. I’m not going to ask to go home or anything because that’s dumb. But I just haven’t felt really useful. Hopefully this week will turn out better, so we’ll see.

Thank you for the emails. I’ve read every one of them and I’m trying to respond to each one, but sometimes that’s just not possible with the time I’ve given here and the time when I have to leave the library. But do know that I read and appreciate every email I get. So thank you for that.

Hope everyone has a great week!

Love, Elder Foxx

Ghoulding, Parsons and Foxx in front of tree

 

Leave a Reply

