Week 16; March 3, 2014: Arrested! & Gilbert Temple Celebration/Dedication

Email #1

Soooooo remember when I was talking about this less-active guy who wanted to get us to Flagstaff and tried to get us to break the rules and everything?

Well, I’m not allowed to say specifically what happened, but there needs to be an Emergency Transfer because Elder Bailey got arrested. Sooo my address is going to change and everything. Yeah, fun.
Arrested
(Note from family: Above was a joke in case you weren’t sure…)

Email #2:

Hello!

So if there needs to be clarification on the last email, we went to a member’s home for dinner and he had handcuffs, a gun, and a beating stick that cops use. So he dropped us off at the park to play Ultimate Frisbee with a bunch of the youth as well as two other missionaries and we took that picture.

Anyway, this week has consisted of doing a lot of service. I’m pretty sure we’ve gotten at least 11 or 12 hours of service this week, which is good. One trick that Elder Bailey and I have noticed is that most members won’t let us do service for them unless we say “We need to get 5 hours of service a week” and make it sound like it’s required of us. Then they actually let us do stuff, ha ha! We’ve been doing lots of yard work this week. Saturday in particular was a full day because we did weeding from 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM (the rain helped A LOT) and then from 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM we dug trenches all around this guy’s backyard (again, the rain helped A LOT) Then we had dinner and then we went to the Stake Center to watch the Youth Cultural Celebration.

The Cultural Celebration was pretty cool. There was a LOT of youth… I mean, DANG, there was a lot of youth! And it was pouring rain the whole entire night. It was kind of cool though because the moment that President Monson appears and the kids start cheering, the rain stops completely. And then when the cultural celebration actually started, the rain dumped on them again. Considering the amount of time the kids had to practice, they all did a fantastic job. The whole thing was pretty cheesy, but I was able to feel the spirit and it got me more excited about being a missionary, which was good.

Then Sunday was of course the dedication of the Gilbert Temple and we attended all three sessions. I have to say it’s weird that the temple is finally dedicated and everything. My entire time serving in the Gilbert Mission has been building up to that temple… and now it’s complete. And I only have a couple more weeks until the end of this transfer, so in a way the dedication of that temple sort of marks the nearing of the end of my time here in Gilbert. So in a way, I’m kind of glad I had this extension just so I could be here for both the Cultural Celebration and the Temple Dedication.

That’s about all I have to say. I haven’t really heard much about my mission call other than that I know President Nattress has been talking with Salt Lake a lot. It sounds like he wants to go on exchanges sometime this week, so I’ll probably hear something later on this week about what’s going to happen.

Anyway, hope you all have a great week! Thanks for all the emails you send, I really appreciate them!

Love, Elder Foxx!

Leave a Reply

