Week 50; October 20, 2014: The Atonement is Real!

Forgot to mention this, but last Monday, we all woke up at about 5:00 AM to go hike up the San Tan Mountain and get to the top by sunrise. At the view from the top, you can actually see the Gilbert Temple from the far distance. Anyway, so there’s a few pictures from that.

That night, we then had a lesson with a Part-member family (the husband is a member, the wife is not). They attended church about a month ago and Bishop came and approached them and flat-out asked her if she would like to take the lessons with the missionaries. She said yes and we met with them about a month ago to introduce ourselves, but they were going to be out of town for a while. And so finally we set up an appointment to meet with them last Monday and were able to teach the Restoration of the Gospel and committed her to read and pray about the Book of Mormon. The lesson went pretty well and we have another appointment with them again tonight at 7:00 PM, so hopefully that goes well.

Wednesday was then Transfer meeting. It was also Elder McGonigal’s birthday. So one of Elder McGonigal’s recent converts made a Birthday breakfast (French toast with strawberries, blackberries, and whipped cream). And then we went over to Transfer meeting, which took up a good chunk of the day, and then we went to Joe’s Farm Grill on the way back from transfer meeting (Since Joe’s Farm Grill does free birthday meals if the meal is $10). Which, by the way, Joe’s Farm Grill has the weirdest freaking bathrooms I have ever seen in my entire life. They’re not disgusting or anything, they’re just…… weird. It’s an experience like no other, I guarantee it. And then our ward mission leader from Seville Park ward took us out to dinner at Firehouse subs (again, they do free birthday meals). And the night before on Tuesday, I told one of the members who loves baking goods and treats that tomorrow was Elder McGonigal’s birthday, so we had a chocolate pie to end the day off. So that was a fun day!

Oh, and on top of that, we got told on Transfer meeting that we got a car back! It’s not the same car, but it is a car! YAAAY! I was actually really surprised we got it back this soon, let alone got it back at all. They also gave us an extra 50 miles to use (thank goodness, because we only had 400), so as long as we just use the car for meetings, P-Day, and emergencies, then we should be set! So that was great!

Thursday morning, I spent the entire time trying to learn the area better and trying to read maps better. Elder McGonigal would give me an address to go to and I’d have to find it using the map. I’m getting a LITTLE better (emphasis on “little”), but it’s still really frustrating to me. I don’t know why directions and maps are so difficult for me.

We then went over to the Hutching’s for dinner at Saturday and they had two other families over there, including the Chadwick’s, and had Venezia’s Pizza (which has extremely huge slices) and so we were there for a little bit and then before we left, we showed the 20-minute Restoration movie. Then Saturday, we stopped by the Chadwick’s again to see how they were doing and to set up a regular time in which we could meet with them. We’re going to start going over the lessons again (Restoration, Plan of Salvation, Gospel of Jesus Christ, etc.), but this time going over the lessons using all scriptures to describe each point. That’ll probably happen every Friday. So it should be good!

Apart from that, not a whole lot happened. ‘K’ forgot she was going to be out of town all week, so she didn’t tell us that until Monday night, so we didn’t have a chance to go over there at all.

One last thing I would like to add to this update though is something that I have been thinking about during Wednesday at Transfer meeting. And that was that my second companion, Elder W. finished his mission on Tuesday and is now home. And I have thought about the beginning of my mission and particular that time period and then where I’m at now. Now, it’s no secret that Elder W. and I didn’t get along while we were companions. There was lots of disagreements and contention within that companionship. But looking back on that transfer, I learned a lot from that transfer and I learned a lot about myself and the changes that have happened both with me and with him since that transfer. Two transfers ago, when I was with Elder Furse, I lived with Elder W. again for four weeks. And if there was anything that I learned with living with him again is that the Atonement of Jesus Christ is real and that Repentance and Forgiveness is real. There was no contention between us in those four weeks. We got along just fine, and we found out how much we had in common. We were able to see each other in a different light, a big part being that both of us have changed a lot since that 7-week transfer. When I got transferred away from Elder Furse, Elder W. and I continued emailing each other a little bit each week. And three days ago, I just got another email again from him now that he is at home and has been released from the calling as a full-time missionary.

In many a ways, I’m glad to have had that experience to see how much we have changed for the better. And thinking back on Transfer meeting and thinking that now he is home and I would not see him again in transfer meetings or anything like that… someone that I used to say to myself that I absolutely hated was now someone that I would refer to as friend. That is the power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. And it’s a miracle that the Gospel is there for us so that we can improve and become more Christlike!

I love you all and hope that everyone has a great week this week!

Love, Elder Foxx

Here are pictures from our hike…
Hike1 Hike2 Hike3 Hike4 Hike5 Hike6 Hike7 Hike8 Hike9 Hike10 Hike11 Hike12 Hike13 Hike14
Leave a Reply

